The Museum Castle Freudenstein, designed by AFF Architekten, is the result of the conversion of an ancient castle located in the town of Freiberg, Germany.
The castle itself partly dates back to the time of the Romanesque style. It was later fully extended to a four-wing-ensemble, including a large tower. During the Seven Years War from 1756 to 1763, its interior became entirely destroyed. From the late 18th century on, the remains of Castle Freudenstein were primarily used for storage.
AFF’s concept was to respect the identity of place, while referring with their design in numerous ways to the new use. With an addition in black concrete, the architects clearly marked the museum entrance in the castle’s courtyard.
The small tubular shapes, which appear now on the façade’s outside, were originally intended as window openings used for bringing some daylight into the building.
The newly inserted rough concrete box for the 2000 square meters of the unique Saxon mining archive and its public reading and presentation area is surely the stronger part. This impressive structure, coloured in anthracite, secures the climatic needs for its precious content.
AFF created a moderate atmosphere, yet playful and surprising provided by various colour accents.
Originally Posted On Coolboom